Skip to content
Pigmity logoPigmityPigmy & Daily Deposit, Simplified.
Comparisons9 min read5 sources

Pigmy collection software compared, on published criteria

App on the agent's phone, rugged handheld with a printer, or a dedicated machine. What four named vendors actually publish, against criteria set out in advance.

Published

At a glance

Vendors compared
COBANKS, ezPigmy, IndiConnect, KTRON
Basis
Only what each vendor publishes on its own page
Pages read
10 September 2026
Prices published
None of the four
Ranking
None. The criteria are published; the scoring is yours

Four vendors, four different answers to the same question, and not one of them publishes a price.

That is the honest summary of what an institution can learn from the public pages of the pigmy collection market. These products are not variations on a theme. They make different assumptions about what happens at the depositor's door, and the choice between them is mostly settled by two questions you can answer before you speak to anyone: does your depositor need paper in their hand, and how bad is the network on the route.

The criteria, before the vendors

Our editorial policy says a comparison is only worth publishing if the criteria go up first and are then applied consistently. So here they are. Each one is a question an institution running daily collection has to answer anyway, whether or not it buys software.

  1. What the depositor gets at the door. A printed receipt, a message, both, or an entry in a passbook.
  2. What happens with no network. Whether a collection can be recorded at all, and what syncs later.
  3. What the agent carries. Their own phone, a supplied rugged handheld, or a dedicated machine.
  4. What the agent can accept. Cash only, or digital payment as well.
  5. How it reaches your books. A live interface to your core banking system, a file handed over, or re-keying.
  6. What languages it speaks. The agent's and the depositor's, not only English.
  7. What the supervisor sees. Routes, running totals, reconciliation, and anything aimed at detecting leakage.
  8. Whether the price is published.

Eight criteria, applied to what each vendor states on its own page and nothing else. Where a vendor does not address a criterion, this page says "not stated" rather than inferring an answer. "Not stated" is not a mark against the product; it means the question has to be put to the vendor directly.

What each vendor publishes

CriterionCOBANKSezPigmyIndiConnectKTRON
At the doorSMS receipts, offered as the replacement for paper rollsThermal receipt printed on the device, plus an automatic SMS after every collectionReceipt by SMS or WhatsApp; no printing mentionedThermal line printer on the machine
No networkOffline mode stated, for weak networks in rural areasOffline-first architecture statedCollection stated to work offlineStores over 100,000 transactions on the device
Agent carriesAndroid phone, with a web portal for the officeRugged Android handheld POS, with a web portal for managersA mobile app, GPS-enabled; platform not statedDedicated device: Linux embedded, 3.5-inch screen, 22-key keypad
AcceptsNot statedCash, cheque or UPI at the doorstep, with an audit trail for each modeUPI, NEFT and IMPS namedMagnetic stripe and smart cards; payment modes not stated
Reaches your booksFile exchange, PCTX and PCRX, with existing society softwareAPI integration with core banking, plus PCRX, PCTX, Edgar Pigmy and U-file formatsAutomatic account mapping and reconciliation; formats and interface not statedUSB, RS232, Ethernet or GPRS; integration method not stated
LanguagesNot statedKannada, Hindi, Tamil, Telugu, Marathi, MalayalamNot statedNot stated
Supervisor seesReal-time totals for managersAgent performance, area-wise reports, leakage detection, reusable collection routesBranch and agent dashboard, settlement reports, duplicate and fraud alertsNot stated
Price publishedNoNoNoNo, and minimum order is one unit

All four pages were read on 10 September 2026. Product pages change without notice, so read the date before the row.

What the table actually shows

The split is about the printer, not about the software. COBANKS and IndiConnect run on a phone the agent probably already carries, and answer the receipt question with a message. ezPigmy puts a printer in the agent's hand and answers it with paper and a message. KTRON sells the printer as the whole machine. Most other differences follow from that one decision, including cost, because a rugged handheld with a thermal printer is a capital purchase and a phone is not. Our guide on handheld machines against mobile apps works through that trade-off in full.

Only one of the four publishes its language coverage. ezPigmy names six Indian languages. None of the other three addresses it. For a product whose entire user base is a field agent and a depositor at a doorstep, often in a district town, that is a more consequential silence than it looks. If your agents work in a language the interface does not carry, the interface is not the product they will use.

Three of the four treat supervision as a feature in its own right. ezPigmy names leakage detection and area-wise reporting, IndiConnect names duplicate and fraud alerts with settlement reports, COBANKS offers real-time totals, and KTRON's specification sheet stays with the hardware. Leakage is the specific risk daily cash collection carries, and the one a compliant collection round is designed to contain, so how a system surfaces it is not a reporting nicety.

Two publish file formats, which tells you what the market runs on. PCTX, PCRX, U-file and Edgar Pigmy appear by name. Those are exchange formats of existing co-operative society software, and a vendor naming them is saying it expects to sit alongside your current system rather than replace it. That is realistic. Confirm which formats your own software actually reads before any demonstration.

Digital payment is now assumed, not offered. Three of the four name UPI or bank transfer at the doorstep. A daily-collection product being sold in 2026 is no longer only a cash product, which changes the reconciliation problem rather than removing it, because a route that takes cash and UPI has two trails to match instead of one.

What none of them publishes

A price. Not one of the four pages carries a figure. An institution therefore cannot compare cost from public information and has to ask each vendor for a written quotation. When you do, ask for all four numbers, because a headline per-month figure hides at least three of them:

  • the device, if a device is required, and who owns it
  • the recurring charge, and whether it is per agent, per account, or per institution
  • the one-time integration or onboarding charge
  • what happens to your data, and what it costs to leave

What happens when a collection is recorded offline and something goes wrong. All four claim to work without a network. None sets out what a depositor holds if the sync later fails, which is precisely the circumstance in which a daily collection turns into a dispute. Ask for that scenario to be demonstrated, not described.

Independent evidence for any of it. COBANKS states that more than 54 institutions and 156 pigmy executives use it across 25 or more locations. That is the vendor's own figure and we have not verified it. The same caution applies to the case against paper collection: the most detailed public account of why manual pigmy collection fails, AccessComputech's, argues that a branch loses visibility until the agent returns and that "a paper receipt is evidence of a transaction, but it is not a system record". The reasoning is sound and matches what institutions describe, but the piece carries no figures and ends by recommending a product the same firm sells. There is no independent measurement of leakage, reconciliation delay or error rates in Indian pigmy collection that we have been able to find. Every number in this market originates with someone selling into it.

How to choose, without a ranking

There is no winner here and this page does not name one. The criteria sort the field once you answer three questions about your own operation.

Do your depositors need paper? If a printed receipt at the door is what your members expect, or what your own rules require, the phone-only products are ruled out before price enters the conversation, and you are choosing between a rugged handheld and a dedicated machine. If a message is genuinely accepted on your routes, the cheapest hardware is the phone the agent already carries.

How bad is the network, and how far does the agent travel? Every vendor claims offline capability, so this is not a differentiator on paper. It becomes one in a demonstration on your worst route, at the hour your agents actually work.

What does your core banking system read? If your existing software exchanges PCTX or PCRX files, a vendor that names those formats is a shorter project than one that does not. If you need live posting rather than a file at the end of the day, that is an API question, and only one of the four names an API.

Answer those three and the field usually narrows to one or two. Then ask for the price in writing, because you will not find it published.

What we could not establish

  • No price for any of the four vendors, from public sources.
  • No independent count of installations for any vendor in this market, and no independent measurement of the problems the market is sold against.
  • No published account of offline reconciliation behaviour, which is the most operationally important difference between these systems and the least documented.
  • Whether COBANKS supports payment modes beyond cash, which its page does not state.
  • Whether COBANKS, IndiConnect or KTRON offer non-English interfaces, which none of those pages addresses.
  • Which platforms IndiConnect's app runs on, which its page does not say.

This page is updated as vendors publish more, and each row carries the date it was read. If you are a vendor and a row here is wrong or out of date, the correction is free and does not require a relationship with us.

Where we stand

Pigmity is not a reseller, takes no payment for placement, and has no commercial relationship with any vendor named on this page. Nobody can buy a row, an omission, or a kind sentence.

We will say plainly, because it should affect how you read this: Pigmity's own longer-term intention is to work in this field. If that ever becomes a product competing with a vendor listed here, this page will say so at the top, on the day it becomes true, and the criteria above will not change to suit it. Until then this is a comparison of other people's published claims, and the criteria are published precisely so you can apply them yourself, to these four vendors or to any other.

Questions

Which pigmy collection software is best?
This page does not answer that, deliberately. A ranking is only credible when the criteria are published in advance and applied consistently, and when the vendors publish enough for the criteria to be applied. On the eight criteria below, every one of the four vendors leaves at least two unanswered and none publishes a price. What the page does instead is set out the criteria, record what each vendor states, and mark the gaps, so an institution can score them against its own route conditions.
Do pigmy collection vendors publish their prices?
None of the four pages we read on 10 September 2026 shows a price. COBANKS, ezPigmy and IndiConnect publish no figure at all, and KTRON's listing gives a minimum order quantity of one unit without a rate. Pricing in this market is quoted on enquiry, so an institution cannot compare cost from public pages and has to ask each vendor directly for a written quotation covering the device, the per-agent or per-account charge, the integration work, and the cost of leaving.
Does a pigmy collection app remove the need for a printed receipt?
Not automatically. COBANKS positions SMS receipts as the replacement for paper rolls and IndiConnect offers receipts by SMS or WhatsApp, while ezPigmy's handheld prints a thermal receipt at the door and also sends an SMS. Which is acceptable depends on your depositors and on the receipt practice your own rules and RBI's doorstep-banking expectations require of you, not on the vendor's preference. Ask depositors on the route before deciding that a text message is enough.
Can pigmy collection software work where there is no mobile network?
All four claim to. COBANKS states an offline mode for weak rural networks, ezPigmy describes an offline-first architecture, IndiConnect says agents can collect even offline, and KTRON's machine stores over 100,000 transactions locally and syncs over GPRS, USB, RS232 or Ethernet. The claims are similar in words but differ in what happens to a collection recorded offline, and none of the pages sets out how conflicts are resolved when two devices sync. That is a question for a demonstration on your own route, not for a feature list.
Is a pigmy collection vendor's published customer count reliable?
Treat it as the vendor's own figure until someone else confirms it. COBANKS states that more than 54 institutions and 156 pigmy executives use it across 25 or more locations, and we have not verified that. There is no independent census of pigmy software installations in India, so every number in circulation, including numbers that reach press coverage, originates with the vendor being counted.