Evidence record
Last verified 8 Oct 2026 · 2 sources in this record · Next review 8 Nov 2026
Institution
- Name
- Chikmagalur Dist Co-Op Central Bank Ltd.
Regulator · List of Insured Banks · Retrieved · Source dated
Listed under the older spelling Chikmagalur.
- Type
- district central co-operative bank
Regulator · List of Insured Banks · Retrieved
Stated in the registered name.
- State
- KarnatakaPartially verified
Institution's own website · Pigmy Deposit Accounts · Retrieved
Follows from the district in the bank's name; not separately stated on the reviewed page.
- District
- Chikkamagaluru
Regulator · List of Insured Banks · Retrieved
Stated in the registered name.
- Website
Institution's own website · Pigmy Deposit Accounts · Retrieved
Regulatory listing
- DICGC insured-bank register
- Listed as an insured bank
Regulator · List of Insured Banks · Retrieved · Source dated
Listed as “Chikmagalur Dist Co-Op Central Bank Ltd.” in the register updated as on 29 Sep 2026. Not on the de-registered list (12 Aug 2026) or the All Inclusive Directions list (31 Aug 2026).
This is the Deposit Insurance and Credit Guarantee Corporation's own list, read on the date shown. A listing is a fact about the register on that date, not an assessment of the institution. The register covers banks only, so a credit society or Nidhi company will not appear on it.
What the cover is worth, and the conditions attached to it, are in is my deposit protected?
Daily-deposit product
Filed under Pigmy / daily deposit; mapping probable. Named a pigmy deposit; the collection method was not recorded from the reviewed page.
- Scheme name used
- Pigmy Deposit
Institution's own website · Pigmy Deposit Accounts · Retrieved
- Published rate
- 1.00% (12 to 60 months)
Institution's own website · Pigmy Deposit Accounts · Retrieved · Effective date not stated
- Interest method
- Not publicly stated on the reviewed source
Institution's own website · Pigmy Deposit Accounts · Checked
- Minimum deposit
- ₹100
Institution's own website · Pigmy Deposit Accounts · Retrieved · Effective date not stated
- Maximum deposit
- No ceiling
Institution's own website · Pigmy Deposit Accounts · Retrieved · Effective date not stated
The page states the maximum as no ceiling.
- Tenure
- 12 to 60 months
Institution's own website · Pigmy Deposit Accounts · Retrieved · Effective date not stated
- Early closure
- No interest if closed within 12 months
Institution's own website · Pigmy Deposit Accounts · Retrieved · Effective date not stated
- Collection away from the branch
- Stated: collected by an agent or staff member
Institution's own website · Pigmy Deposit Accounts · Retrieved · Effective date not stated
Authorised agents collect at the depositor's door, daily or at less frequent intervals.
Check for yourself before acting
- Ask the institution for the current rate in writing. Published rates change without notice.
- Ask what you would receive if the account is closed early.
- Ask how interest is calculated and when it is credited.
- Check the DICGC insured-bank list yourself on the day you decide.
Pigmity is independent and is not affiliated with Chikmagalur Dist Co-Op Central Bank Ltd.. This is not the institution's page, not an official register, and not a recommendation.
Each fact shows its source, the date Pigmity read it, and whether the source states an effective date. “Not publicly stated” means the reviewed source was read and does not give the fact. “Not established” means Pigmity has not established it. Neither means no.
Spotted an error? Write to hello@pigmity.com with the institution and what is wrong, and a link to where the correct figure is published if you have one. The report form is closed for now, so nothing is collected through this page.
Mail to hello@pigmity.com is not being delivered yet, so a message sent there will not reach Pigmity. This notice will be removed once delivery has been confirmed.
Pigmity's analysis
Chikkamagaluru District Central Co-operative Bank publishes a single rate for its pigmy deposit: 1.00% a year, on a term of 12 to 60 months, from a minimum of ₹100.
The early-closure term is the sharp edge
The bank states that no interest is paid on an account closed within 12 months. Beside a 1.00% headline, that means a member who does not complete a year earns nothing on what they paid in. It is the term to establish before the first collection, not after.
What a district central co-operative bank is
A district central co-operative bank sits in the middle tier of the rural co-operative credit structure, between village societies and the state co-operative bank. This bank appears in the DICGC insured-bank register, under the older spelling Chikmagalur, in the list updated on 8 September 2026. A credit society offering a similar-looking daily deposit would not appear on that register, which lists banks only.
What the page leaves out
Re-read on 17 September 2026, the page states no ceiling on the deposit, which few institutions in the directory say either way, and that authorised agents collect at the depositor's door daily or less often. What it still does not say is how interest is calculated or when it is credited. Two schemes quoting the same percentage can pay different amounts, so ask the branch for the method in writing. Our guide to pigmy rates sets this bank's schedule beside every other one in the directory.