This page is informational and is not legal advice. It describes rules, orders and rulings as published or reported on the dates shown; read the primary text before relying on any of it.
Evidence record
Last verified 8 Oct 2026 · 2 sources in this record · Next review 8 Nov 2026
Institution
- Name
- Karnataka Grameena Bank
Regulator · List of Insured Banks · Retrieved · Source dated
Earlier Pigmity pages called it Karnataka Gramin Bank; the register lists Karnataka Grameena Bank.
- Type
- regional rural bankPartially verified
Institution's own website · New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme · Retrieved
The page does not state the legal type; Grameena is the regional rural bank naming form.
- State
- KarnatakaPartially verified
Institution's own website · New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme · Retrieved
Stated in the bank's name.
- Website
Institution's own website · New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme · Retrieved
Regulatory listing
- DICGC insured-bank register
- Listed as an insured bank
Regulator · List of Insured Banks · Retrieved · Source dated
Listed as “Karnataka Grameena Bank” in the register updated as on 29 Sep 2026. Not on the de-registered list (12 Aug 2026) or the All Inclusive Directions list (31 Aug 2026).
This is the Deposit Insurance and Credit Guarantee Corporation's own list, read on the date shown. A listing is a fact about the register on that date, not an assessment of the institution. The register covers banks only, so a credit society or Nidhi company will not appear on it.
What the cover is worth, and the conditions attached to it, are in is my deposit protected?
Daily-deposit product
Filed under Pigmy / daily deposit; mapping probable. The page lists commission and conveyance charges consistent with agent collection, but does not state doorstep collection.
- Scheme name used
- New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme
Institution's own website · New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme · Retrieved
- Published rate
Before 12 months Nil 12 to under 18 months 1.00% 18 to under 36 months 2.00% 36 to under 59 months 3.00% 60 months, at maturity 4.00% Institution's own website · New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme · Retrieved · Effective date not stated
- Interest method
- Not publicly stated on the reviewed source
Institution's own website · New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme · Checked
- Minimum deposit
- ₹50
Institution's own website · New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme · Retrieved · Effective date not stated
- Maximum deposit
- Not publicly stated on the reviewed source
Institution's own website · New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme · Checked
- Tenure
- 60 months
Institution's own website · New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme · Retrieved · Effective date not stated
- Early closure
- Service charge of ₹5 plus GST; commission recovery depends on when the account is closed
Institution's own website · New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme · Retrieved · Effective date not stated
- Collection away from the branch
- Not publicly stated on the reviewed source
Institution's own website · New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme · Checked
The page sets the agent's commission and conveyance charge but does not state that collection happens at the depositor's door.
- Loan against the deposit
- Not publicly stated on the reviewed source
Institution's own website · New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme · Checked
Check for yourself before acting
- Ask the institution for the current rate in writing. Published rates change without notice.
- Ask what you would receive if the account is closed early.
- Ask how interest is calculated and when it is credited.
- Check the DICGC insured-bank list yourself on the day you decide.
Pigmity is independent and is not affiliated with Karnataka Grameena Bank. This is not the institution's page, not an official register, and not a recommendation.
Each fact shows its source, the date Pigmity read it, and whether the source states an effective date. “Not publicly stated” means the reviewed source was read and does not give the fact. “Not established” means Pigmity has not established it. Neither means no.
Spotted an error? Write to hello@pigmity.com with the institution and what is wrong, and a link to where the correct figure is published if you have one. The report form is closed for now, so nothing is collected through this page.
Mail to hello@pigmity.com is not being delivered yet, so a message sent there will not reach Pigmity. This notice will be removed once delivery has been confirmed.
Pigmity's analysis
Karnataka Grameena Bank is the state's single regional rural bank. It was formed on 1 May 2025, when Karnataka Vikas Grameena Bank and Karnataka Gramin Bank were amalgamated into it under a Central Government notification, with its head office in Ballari and Canara Bank as sponsor. Every deposit account at the two older banks moved to it on that date; our guide to what happens when your bank merges explains what that meant for daily-deposit savers.
Its daily-deposit product is the New Nithya Nidhi Deposit Scheme. The bank's page for it also names a Cauvery Akshaya Nidhi Deposit Scheme alongside it, without saying more about how the two relate.
How the rate works
The scheme runs for 60 months from a minimum of ₹50, and the interest depends entirely on how long the account stays open:
- Closed before 12 months: no interest at all.
- 12 months to under 18: 1.00%.
- 18 months to under 36: 2.00%.
- 36 months to under 59: 3.00%.
- The full 60 months: 4.00%.
That ladder is the most important thing to understand about this account. It is not a 4.00% product that charges a penalty for leaving early; it is a product whose rate is earned by staying, and only the last step pays the headline figure. Someone who may need the money within a year should know that a year's daily payments would come back with nothing added. The page does not say how interest is calculated or credited, so ask the branch whether the rate applies to the whole balance or to each day's deposit for the time it was held. Our maturity calculator shows how much that choice matters.
Closing early
Beyond the lower slab rate, early closure carries a service charge of ₹5 plus GST. The page also sets out when the agent's commission is clawed back: closed within 12 months, the commission paid on the whole balance is recovered from the agent; after that, only commission on unusually large credits is. That rule protects the bank and shapes how an agent will talk to you about closing, but it is the agent, not you, who repays the commission. Our comparison of early-closure terms sets this against what other institutions publish.
Who collects, and what they are paid
The page does not state that collection is at your door, which is why our record marks the product as a probable rather than confirmed daily-collection scheme. It does state the agent's pay: 3% of the monthly collection plus ₹100 a month in conveyance, with tax deducted at source. A bank that publishes its agent's commission is telling you what the collection costs it, which helps explain why the rate is laddered the way it is.
Checking your balance
The bank states that a balance confirmation is to be obtained every half year, at the end of September and of March. Treat those dates as yours too: compare the confirmation with your passbook and your collection receipts each time. Our passbook checklist shows what to look for.
Deposit insurance
Karnataka Grameena Bank appears on DICGC's list of insured banks, so deposits are covered up to the insured limit per depositor. Our guide to whether your deposit is protected explains what that limit covers. The figures above were read from the bank's page; the record below shows each one with its source and the date it was read.